

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at the **ANNUAL MEETING** of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on **THURSDAY**, **28 MAY 2015**, at **6.00 P.M.** in the **COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **TRAFFORD TOWN HALL**, **TALBOT ROAD**, **STRETFORD**, for the transaction of the business set out below:

1. Election of Mayor and Chairman of Council

To elect the Mayor who will be Chairman of Council for the ensuing year and receive notification of the appointment of the Mayoress.

2. Appointment of Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chairman of Council

To appoint the Deputy Mayor who will be Vice-Chairman of Council for the ensuing year and receive notification of the appointment of the Deputy Mayoress.

3. Vote of Thanks

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

4. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 25 March 2015 for signature by the Mayor as Chairman.

1 - 14

Pages

5. **Results of Elections of Councillors**

To receive a report of the Returning Officer on the results of the Poll held on 7 May 2015 for the respective wards of the Borough.

15 - 16

6. Membership of the Executive

	To note the membership of the Executive Cabinet, including the Deputy Leader, as appointed by the Leader of the Council.	17 - 20
7.	Shadow Executive	
	To note the membership of the Shadow Executive.	To Follow
8.	Council Committees	
	To receive a report on the Committees of the Council, their composition, membership and terms of reference for the 2015/16 Municipal Year.	21 - 54
9.	Appointments to Outside and Independent Bodies	
	To receive a report on Council appointments to outside and independent bodies.	55 - 60
10.	Timetable of Council and Committee Meetings	
	To approve a timetable of meetings for 2015/16.	61 - 62
11.	Delegated Decisions and Urgent Action for Committees	

To approve the following arrangements for dealing with delegated decisions and urgent action:

Delegated Decisions (a)

That where, under the approved scheme of delegation, decisions may be taken by Officers in consultation with non-Executive Members then in the absence of any specific arrangements having been made, the Officer shall consult the appropriate Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Opposition Spokesperson.

(b) Urgent Action

That, in situations which require emergency action the Chief Executive or the appropriate Officer, in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committee concerned and the Opposition Spokesperson where appropriate (or their respective nominees), be authorised to deal from this date until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2016, with any matters of urgency or any other matter that cannot conveniently be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee, subject to later report for information, to the Committee in question.

12. **Delegation of Functions and Amendments to the Constitution**

To receive a report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer.

13. Executive Decisions Taken Under Special Urgency (Regulation 11) Provisions

The Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings and Access to Information) (England) Regulations 2012 provide that a report should be made periodically to Council on Executive Key Decisions which have been taken under the Special Urgency provisions set out in Regulation 11. Council is advised that no decisions have been taken under these provisions since the previous Annual Council Meeting.

Yours sincerely,

Therese Grant

THERESA GRANT Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors E. Malik (Mayor), J. Holden (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead,
S.B. Anstee, S.K. Anstee, Dr. K. Barclay, J. Baugh, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn,
R. Bowker, C. Boyes, Mrs. A. Bruer-Morris, Mrs. J.E. Brophy, B. Brotherton, D. Bunting,
D. Butt, C. Candish, K. Carter, M. Cawdrey, R. Chilton, M. Cordingley, M. Cornes,
J. Coupe, L. Dagnall, Mrs. P. Dixon, A. Duffield, Mrs. L. Evans, N. Evans, T. Fishwick,
M. Freeman, P. Gratrix, J. Harding, D. Hopps, M. Hyman, C. Hynes, D. Jarman,
P. Lally, J. Lamb, J. Lloyd, A. Mitchell, P. Myers, D. O'Sullivan, I. Platt, K. Procter,
J.R. Reilly, Mrs J. Reilly, B. Rigby, T. Ross, M. Sephton, B. Sharp, B. Shaw, J. Smith,
E.W. Stennett, S. Taylor, L. Walsh, Mrs. V. Ward, A. Western, D. Western, M. Whetton,
A. Williams, M. Young and Mrs. P. Young

<u>Further Information</u> For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

Ian Cockill, Democratic Services Officer Tel: 0161 912 1387 Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday**, **19 May 2015** by the Legal and Democratic Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH

Any person wishing to photograph, film or audio-record a public meeting is requested to inform Democratic Services in order that necessary arrangements can be made for the meeting.

Please contact the Democratic Services Officer 48 hours in advance of the meeting if you intend to do this or have any queries.